Skip to content

New Amerykah Part Two | Original Samples

03/31/2010

TSR is loving this album. Point blank. Period.

With that now said, we won’t be doing an actual “Album Review” of it.

From the look of the vast amount of blogs and sites across the inter-webs, everyone else has already handed their reviews in any way. Besides that there are so many great ones already out there, there aren’t very many unused accolades, opinions, points of view and even grievances left we could shower on her latest offering, without sounding trite and ineffectual.

So I’ll do the TSR thing and approach this post from an entirely different angle and concentrate on what stands out the most for us with this disc, the samples Ms. Badu and her production crew used for its soundscape, for I was diggin’ them so much that I did what I normally do when I like an LP of this caliber to this extent, try to find them ALL.

Now of course my “Sample Finding Fetish” isn’t anything new, out of the ordinary or something way out of the box. Quite to the contrary, I “Sample Hunt” regularly and share my finds on Twitter, Bookface & BlipFM almost daily for those that pay TSR any regular attention.
Nor is this penchant a quirk only relegated to me, as these days as you can find a plethora of blogs and sites dedicated to “Diggin’ In The Crates“.  I admittedly frequent Hip-Hop Is Read quite a bit for their well put together original sample offerings and Kevin Nottingham has an extensive database as well of Hip-Hop’s classic LP’s broken down into compilations of the base songs before producers and DJ’s get a hold to them.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t just run around the innanets, snatching downloads of other peoples hard crate diggin’ work all day and night. I’m no slouch when it comes to recognizing melodies either and I replayed the album numerous times while racking and revving the audio memory portion of my brain in high gear during my deciphering and decoding. Once I had determined each tracks origins, I then utilized all of my resources to find copies of all the music used to create this newest addition to Erykah’s musical body of work.

And no that wasn’t a slick reference to the “Now Viral Enough to be on CNNWindow Seat video either…..see what I did right there?

Once I had secured copies of them all, I intently listened, listened and listened some more to those tracks everyday for the past week and a half, marveling at the craftsmanship in them. Doing so has made my appreciation of the Badu’s LP grow 20 Foot Tall.

Now normally, I would have uploaded them all to one of the ShareDrives for safe keeping and for the off-chance that someone would happen upon and download them for their own MP3 collections. I wrestled with that idea for a time though. I actually went through a “WWBD? (What Would Badu Du?) moment, so to speak.

Then I decided that instead of hording them away from the public, they should be shared out in the open, transparently with our readers/music lovers and any other reader/music lovers on the day of the album’s official unveiling.

Unfortunately, other responsibilities kept me from posting this until this very moment but have no fear. I am becoming more thoughtful and prudent in my old age. Earlier on this Du Day, I reached out to my Twitter sisters @vivrant_thang & @ButtaBaby over at SOULBOUNCE about adding my findings to their own Du Day Part Deux festivities today. They were, as always, more than gracious in adding this compilation on short notice and with kudos in abundance.

Major Props to them for that and also shouts to @Frolab & @missfrolab over at FroLab.com for picking up the post and running with it as well…

So you have no excuse now but to go to either site, point, click and save a copy for your iPod/mp3/whatever and get a good solid foundation in the music that helped create the Return of the Ankh. No worries about not being able to recognize what from what either, as I’ve taken the time to label each correctly and even edited the ID3 Tags as well as embedded the Artwork to each file too. Don’t laugh at it too hard either, I’m way better at writing about music that I am at Photoshop.

Spend a little time listening to these classics and after that, follow the advice of Ndugu & The Chocolate Jam Company

re-listen to Ms. Badu’s offering again and maybe you’ll then understand how to #ungroupthink yourself…

Download @ Bandcamp.com


Later,

Square

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Morgan permalink
    04/03/2010 01:45

    Thank you so much, I can’t even explain in words how much I love and appreciate this album and real music period. Maybe I’m just an old soul like my parents tell me. I’m 28 now. Ms. Erykah did her thing again. Peace and blessings, God bless.

    Morgan

    • 04/16/2010 19:51

      @Morgan
      I’m glad our little labor of love touched you. Hopefully it will help as a companion piece to a great LP and maybe even cultivate a love for sample hunting in you as well.

  2. 04/16/2010 12:25

    Good looking out on the sample love – I appreciate the due diligence you put into it (i.e., ID3 tags, etc.). Respect!

    • 04/16/2010 13:02

      @Fave
      Coming from you sir, your words are motivation and we appreciate it as we’ve been fans of Favecast for a good while. Apologizes for the”Guerilla Commenting” @Groovmnt as well. We just want to make sure everyone gets their hands on a copy to add the their Erykah collection. Hit us on Twitter if you ever need anything…

  3. 04/19/2010 11:02

    Fantastic tracks

    Peace

  4. 04/25/2010 20:53

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

  5. 06/21/2010 20:22

    I love this website, the information is great and I have bookmarked it in my favorites. This is a well organized and informative website. Great Job!

Leave a Reply

